Days in Tokyo – Yoyogi Park

PicMonkey Collage1

Yoyogi Park is located next or rather near to the entrance of the long walk to Meiji Shrine. Probably about 3 minutes walk away. There’s nothing much over here. However, we thought of going over since it is still early and since it is nearby, we can go and enjoy some morning strolling. πŸ™‚

The first plum tree that I saw in Tokyo, though it Β has yet to bloom fully, it was enough to get me excited.

72434_10151331430551027_1081419914_n

598954_10151331432566027_1293388842_n

Pretty mini flower bed with a small house in the backdrop. I just feel it’s romantic. Heh. Yoyogi Park is one of Tokyo’s largest city parks, featuring wide lawns, ponds and forested areas, but I didn’t venture too far into the park and so, maybe some other day when I am here again, I will spend more time over here. πŸ˜€

551886_10151331430951027_573215574_n

PicMonkey Collage

Although Yoyogi Park has relatively few cherry trees compared to other sites in Tokyo, it makes a nice cherry blossom viewing spot in spring though I am still too early for it! And so you see the bald cherry trees which I kind of like it too.

There are a lot of crows in the park flying above you and some near to you. Quite scary and I keep staring at those crows so that I can react fast enough if…

Before becoming a city park in 1967, the area where Yoyogi Park is located served as the site of the Olympic Village for the 1964 Tokyo Olympics, and before that, as a residential area for US military personnel.

Leave a Reply

