Autumn Story In Japan 2013 – Munching munching @ Nishiki Market

PicMonkey Collage

First post of 2014, Happy New Year! Feeling lazy to continue on my travelogue until I decide that I need to continue before I forgot everything. Heh!

From Nijo Castle, we took bus no. 12 on the same side / bus stop that we alighted for Nijo Castle to Shijo Takakura bus stop which is in front of Daimaru Department Store. Turn right and walk till the first small alley / road on the left side (If I did not remember wrongly, the small road is next to Mizuho Bank) and turn in. Walk all the way in and Nishiki Market is on the right.

It’s just 2 minutes walk. Initially, we did not really know the way in cos there’s no signage around. So we asked a pretty おばさん for direction. 😀

photo 1

The first store we spot in Nishiki Market is this super super big, newly opened drug store and I tell you, it’s so big that we gone crazy shopping in it, coming out with a super big bag of loots. And since it’s newly opened, there’s this geisha at the entrance for photo taking. Omg, she is so mini besides me, small size desu ne!

Also, the price are relatively cheaper than the drug stores in Tokyo, the items / merchandises are more complete and come in greater variety. If it’s not for the concern that I may have difficulty carrying my loots to Tokyo, I would have bought so much more. Hu!

1385370_10151778493866027_1530212077_n

1470280_10151778494916027_638668037_n

Nishiki Market is a narrow, five block long shopping street lined by more than 100 shops and restaurants. It is also known as ‘Kyoto’s Kitchen’, this lively retail market specializes in all things food related, like fresh seafood, produce, knives and cookware, and is a great place to find seasonal foods and Kyoto specialties, such as Japanese sweets, pickles, dried seafood and sushi.

The stalls here mostly specialize in a particular type of food, and almost everything sold at the market is locally produced and procured.

PicMonkey Collage4

This is Tofu Doughnut which is famous in Nishiki Market. It’s really small and cute! The tofu taste is strong and it is fluffy and soft. I love this cos it’s not sweet. 🙂

PicMonkey Collage2

一木鸡卵 is famous for the Tamago and I really love this kind of egg! Whenever I am in Japan, I will get egg overdose because I can eat a lot of it! The Unagi Tamago (Egg roll with Unagi wrap in it) is sold out so I just make do with the original plain Egg Roll. I finish the whole roll by myself for breakfast on the next day (review will come later). Hehe.

1480603_10151778493986027_328978285_n

PicMonkey Collage7

Maybe it’s a Saturday, so it’s really duper crowded that we are squashed in between, even taking a nice photo with food is difficult. Start from the left 1st photo, this is grill scallop and squid with glutinous rice in it. The sauce is perfect, and the scallop is so so sweet! The squid is not bad too but the limelight is overwhelmed by the juicy scallop.

The 2nd photo, this is Octopus. It’s not just a normal Octopus, there’s hard-boil bird egg wrap in the Octopus head. Believe it or not, Japanese are such creative and smart people. How yummy!!! The Octopus is not hard or chewy, and when I bite of the head, the egg and the Octopus just match so so so well.

PicMonkey Collage1

photo 2

Sashimi on a stick is also one of the famous ‘must-try’ at Nishiki Market. I bought the salmon and tuna stick with lemon juices on it. Hmmm… I find the sashimi too thick and after 2 bites, I kinda get a little scare of it. But it’s fresh, just too thick! Just probably me. 😛

photo 4 (1)

This is fish cake, super juicy fish cake that the juices spurge on my face when I bite it. Good!

photo 3 (1)

Onigiri! Salmon flavor. Yummy!!!

1475977_10151778495261027_485692310_n

This store is probably famous cos the queue is super long and the food are not consider cheap. BUT hey, it’s damn good! These are my favorites at Nishiki Market! The grill squid is so fresh, fat, crunchy, juicy and totally matching with the sauce. The other stick is fried fish with sea salt sprinkle on it. The fried outer layer is thin but crispy, and the fish meat inside is thick and juicy! Coupled with the sea salt sprinkle on it, it’s just too delicious. 😀

If I have 2 stomachs, I would have eaten more. If I have a chance, I will choose to come back here again. Next stop, Ginkakuji!

Leave a Reply

